Governor Pritzker Announces Reopening Plan

Governor Pritzker has announced the Restore Illinois: A Public Health Approach To Safely Reopen Our State plan. This five-phase, regional plan builds on data, science, and guidance from public health experts as well as consultations with stakeholders across the state.

At his press conference on May 5th, 2020, Pritzker explained that the state would be divided into four regions, each of which can move through five phases of reopening at different times: Northeast Illinois; North-Central Illinois; Central Illinois; and Southern Illinois.

Certain benchmarks would have to be achieved for each region to safely move to the next phase.